Awards and Accolades

In 2012 the Read Write Now program won the Western Australia Community Organisation of the Year Award. The award recognised a Western Australian volunteer involving organisation that provided innovative leadership and through best practice in volunteering brought about positive and enduring change to their community. It was accepted on behalf of Read Write Now by Program manager Marcia Barclay and Central Institute of Technology Managing Director Neil Fernandes. They are pictured with His Excellency Malcolm McCusker AC QC (former) Governor of Western Australia and the Honourable Robyn McSweeney MLC, (former) Minister for Volunteering.2012 VWA Gov MB Min NF

Throughout its 38 year history, the Read Write Now program has garnered many awards and acknowledgements, both for the organisation and the extraordinary individuals who are involved in a volunteer capacity, or for students. These awards have been at a national and local level -

Adult Learners Week Awards included winning the following categories:

  • Outstanding Program
  • Outstanding Partnership
  • Service Contribution Award (Individual)
  • Outstanding Learner
  • Outstanding Learner, Individual over 60 years
  • Outstanding Learner, Migrant
  • Outstanding Learner New Migrant
  • Outstanding Older Learner
  • Outstanding Student
  • Outstanding Tutor (Volunteer) three times
  • Outstanding Provider (Community Organisation)

Community Services Industry Award - Winner 'Valuing Volunteers'

Finalist in the Premier's Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management Services to Regional and Remote Communities.


To celebrate the Program's 35th Anniversary a number of Queen's Honours were bestowed on Read Write Now Coordinators and Tutors. Program manager Marcia Barclay is shown here meeting the Queen.